

OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

24 JULY 2018

PRESS RELEASE

PARLIAMENT APPROVES HON. BINTU MYERS, DR. SARAH BENDU AND FIFTEEN OTHERS

The Parliament of Sierra Leone has on Tuesday 24th July 2018 debated and approved the Tenth Report of its Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, chaired by the Acting Leader of Government Business, Hon. Sahr Mathew Nyuma.

The Rt. Hon. Speaker of Parliament, Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu had earlier dispelled rumours making rounds in the print and electronic media, especially social media that Members of Parliament had received Le 63 Million as Constituency Development Fund (CDF) "as utterly untrue and baseless". He also said that "the issue of CDF shall cease to exist by next year and that the would-be disbursement of CDF for this year could be used mainly for rental or the construction of constituency offices".

Congratulating the presidential nominees after approval, Dr. Bundu said that it is the fullest endorsement of the trust accorded by President Bio to his nominees to perform effectively and efficiently in the discharge of their duties, subject to robust parliamentary oversight that may advice the President to revoke certain appointments. He also cautioned the nominees of their supervisory roles, that some appointments are not a full time job with entitlements, except provided by statutes.

The following presidential nominees have been approved by Parliament:

- I. Mr. Foday Musa-Chairman, Board of Directors, National Commission for Social Action
- II. Mr. Patrick Jahiah Kaikai-Board Chairman, Sierra Leone Civil Aviation Authority
- III. Mr. Moses Williams-Chairman, Statistics Council
- IV. Mr. Khalilu Ibrahim Totangi-Chairman, National Commission for Civic Education and Development
- V. Mr. Edward Lebbie-Chairman, Sierra Leone Airport Authority
- VI. Hon. Bintu Myers-Chairman, Guma Valley Water Company

VII. Mr. Alfred Herbert Kandeh-Chairman, Board of Directors, National Public Procurement Authority

VIII. Mr. Sidi Allieu Bakarr-Chairman, Electricity Distribution and Supply Authority

IX. Mrs. Sia Elizabeth Tongu-Chairman, National Civil Registration Authority

X. Mr. James Taiwo Cullen-Chairman, National Commission for Persons with Disability

XI. Mr. Donald Ngegba-Chairman, Local Government Commission

XII. Mr. Philip Lansana-Executive Director, Sierra Leone Water Company

XIII. Dr. Sarah Finda Bendu-Executive Director, Sierra Leone Maritime Administration

XIV. Mr. Thomas Ngolo Katta-Commissioner, National Youth Commission

XV. Mr. Emmerson Kamara-Deputy Commissioner, National Youth Commission

XVI. Mr. Abu Bockarie Kokofele-Commissioner, National Commission for Social Action and

XVII. Ms. Ada Conteh-Member, Electricity Distribution and Supply Authority

Contributing to the debate, Chief Whip of Parliament, Hon. Dickson Rogers of SLPP commended President Bio for nominating qualified and experienced persons to serve in high offices of State. He also recognized the zest of Mr. Katta to transform the lives of the youth and called on Mr. Lansana to build and improve on the work that had been undertaken by SALWACO, with the sole aim of addressing the water challenges in the country. He furthered that nominees should serve the people of Sierra Leone devoid of colour and to judge workers by their "output and competence", adding that Dr. Sarah Bendu had revived SLRSA and that she should do same for the Sierra Leone Maritime Administration to attract needed revenue for Government equaling the mining sector, by controlling our territorial waters which had been trampled by poachers.

Hon. Hassan Sesay of APC thanked the Speaker profusely for dispelling rumours on social media that CDF had been paid to MPs with a view to uphold and protect the image of the House, whilst recognizing Hon. Bintu Myers for her exemplary performance in her days in Parliament. He also said that Dr. Sarah Bendu had been moved from land to sea administration, that she had the opportunity of serving APC and SLPP, whilst articulating her innovative and transformative leadership strides at SLRSA and encouraged her to do same at the Sierra Leone Maritime Administration. He further said that there is no form of tribalism in the country and decried politicians "for fanning ethnic flames", saying that the moment for politics is over and we should now concentrate on development.

Hon. Emilia L. Tongi, an Independent MP commended President Bio for choosing good nominees and observed that "the SLPP is characterized with people that have rich intellectual baggage". She also said that it is disheartening to see disabled women begging with babies

strapped on their backs, calling on the nominee to advocate for improvement of the lives of disabled persons both in urban and rural communities and the need for visitation to those in her constituency who are engaged in small scale businesses.

Hon. Dr. Alhaji Kandeh K. Yumkella, Leader of NGC described the approval process as part of building the governance scheme of President Bio by appointing heads of Boards and Commissions who are placed at the forefront of his aspirations have a duty to make and unmake those institutions. Cautioning nominees that they are part of the President's war on corruption, he encouraged them to deliver change without discrimination and the need to build strong institutions. He also spoke on the need for better and safer boats, lowering the cost for the registration of boats, and the building of new jetties in the riverine areas. Speaking on civic education, he continued that "MPs are not bankers, saying that whenever he travelled to his constituency, he returned with empty pockets", adding that "when you politicized the youth without job opportunity, they are free to change their minds".

Both the Acting Leader of the Opposition and the Acting Leader of Government Business, Hon. Ibrahim Ben Kargbo and Hon. Sahr Mathew Nyuma respectively shared similar sentiments on qualifications and the competencies of President Bio's nominees before committal for approval to the House.

Department of Public Relations

Parliament of Sierra Leone

OAU Drive, Tower Hill

Freetown

Tel: +23278495023/+23277669726/+23278426851